Friday, July 9, 2010

England beckons for one Tamil school team

New Straits Times, Jul 9, 2010

FOOTBALL development at Tamil schools has received a boost as the champions of the Road To England grand finals at the Kota Raja ground in Klang tomorrow will be on a three-week attachment with an English Premier League (EPL) academy in December.

The programme was launched by Oms Foundation and organised by Ken Barnes Soccer Skills where 526 Tamil schools competed in the talent scouting road show in all states except Terengganu, Sabah and Sarawak. A total of 24 schools qualified for the grand finals.

The best two teams from each State made the grand finals while Selangor, Perak and Kedah had additional slots due to overwhelming response.

Ken Barnes Soccer Skills chief operating officer (COO) P. Subramaniam said the move was to see football progressing in Tamil schools again and he was happy with the response for the road show.

"Our intention is to promote football in Tamil schools and, with the support of the Oms Foundation, it was a success," said Subramaniam.
"The Grand Finals will see 24 teams competing to earn a once in a lifetime chance of being attached to an EPL club for three weeks.

"We have not identified the club but we will do so soon where five players and a manager will make the trip on Dec 8."

The preliminary round of the Grand Finals will see eight groups of three teams each with the group winners advancing to the knock- out stage.

The event is called footskills, which is similar to futsal but played on fields. Each team comprise of four regulars and a reserve.

Kuala Lumpur: SJK (T) Fletcher A; SJK (T) Sungai Besi.
Selangor: SJK (T) Methodist Jalan Kapar; SJK (T) Ladang Jalan Acob; SJK (T) Ladang Highlands.
Kedah: SJK (T) Ladang Wellesley B; SJK (T) Bedong A; SJK (T) Kulim.
Penang: SJK (T) Mak Mandin A; SJK (T) Mak Mandin B.
Perak: SJK (T) Klebang; SJK (T) Selama (Sir Chulan); SJK (T) Tapah B.
Negri Sembilan: SJK (T) Jalan Lobak; SJK (T) Bandar Springhill.
Malacca: SJK (T) Jasin; SJK (T) Ladang Bukit Kajang A.
Johor: SJK (T) Ladang Kelan; SJK (T) Cantuman Chaah B.
Pahang: SJK (T) Mentakab A; SJK (T) Mentakab B.
Perlis: SJK (T) Kangar A; SJK (T) Kangar B.
Kelantan: SJK (T) Ladang Pasir Gajah.

No comments:

Post a Comment